Forest safari VR experiece

Ashfak TM
4 min readFeb 9, 2018

--

This short article is to describe the steps and procedures I have taken to complete the virtual reality project named “VR forest safari” .

purpose of this project

Well this project is intended to apply all my learning in term two of the virtual reality nanodegree and to understand about the major virtual reality industries and applications.

Forest safari VR

Lets see the result first

Forest safari VR app is an mobile VR experience developed for the cardboard VR system.It is an experience where the user is able to visit the animals in a virtual forest.

The final product

From this video you can see how the visual , audio ,lights and feedback is utilized to provide an better vr experience .You see the product lets see the steps and action behind it.

Process

You know everything begins from nothing . As I started the project I was trying to draw the ideas in my mind . I know the drawing listed down is really bad But it helped me a lot in designing .

The user is able to see the animal from inside the jeep
The UI system

After the first iteration I have made the scene with some trees and added the truck I downloaded from asset store and placed a glass box for providing protection to the user from the animals :) .The following picture shows the process.

The first designed experience ,here I use glass box to give the barier.
With some animals on scene

After designing this I have conducted user testing to obtain some feedback.

User testing 1

USER 1 :(friend ,age 21,Beginner to VR)
Q: how do you explain the scene ?
A:There is tiger in front of me ,And I think I am in a truck I think
Q:How you describe your height in the scene ?
A:I am shorter that real.
Q:How is the mood ?
A:I cant clearly see the tiger in front of me ,the glass is blocking the view.

USER 2 :(friend ,age 20,Beginner to VR)
Q:How you explain the scene ?
A:This looks completely blurry ..I cant see through the glass.
Q:Is there any other issue ?
A:There is nothing other than the tiger.

As the information acquired from the user testing I made some changes and added navigation movement to the truck , and also removed the glass that made problem and placed the cage as shown below

removed the glass and added a cage.
The Finished UI.

After completing every process I conducted another user testing.

User testing 2

USER 1 :
Q: how do you explain the experience?
A:It is like visiting a zoo , and is good.
Q: is any issue in this app?
A:I think it is pretty good .

USER 2 :
Q:How you explain the scene ?
A:I can clearly see everything
Q:Is there any other issue ?
A:It is good if all the animals are included .

Conclusion

For an conclusion I would like to say that I have conducted a good research in Virtual Reality industry , and by this project I have shown VR can be used in application like visiting Zoo and also education about the animal species.

Next Steps

The Virtual reality content developing is an wonderful experience and I am really enjoying it . Providing people with some experience they never seen before is actually awesome I would like to implement my ideas for virtual reality in a manner that user will have an good experience without any issues in the design of that experience . In the future I would like to provide a good movement system in VR for my projects .

--

--